Posted by: felishkulitz | September 12, 2009

My Mother Tongue


Commonwealth of the Philippines
Image via Wikipedia

This is my second post here. Today, I would like to share with you my own mother tongue. I am a Filipino and I was born in Manila. Tagalog is the language used in that area of the Philippines so I know how to speak Tagalog.

Maybe you are confused between Tagalog and Filipino. Filipino language is an artificial language planned to absorb the rest of the languages in the Philippines.

The Commission on the Filipino Language (Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino), the regulating body of Filipino, envisions a process of popularizing regional dialect usage derived from regional languages as the basis for standardizing and intellectualizing the language, thus forming a lingua franca.

Our country comprises more than seven thousand islands. No wonder that there are more than a hundred languages and dialects here. Tagalog is one of them. Now, Filipino is the term used to represent to a language chosen to be the national and one of the official language in the country. During the 1930s, Tagalog was chosen as the base of Filipino so basically Filipino language is similar to Tagalog language plus the vocabularies of other languages including Spanish and English.

In Ishiglobal, I have a post entitled “Wikang Filipino” in which I listed some qualities of that language. I want to list them here and they are as follows:

  1. It is a global language.
  2. It is easy to pronounce.
  3. One can use English technical terms
  4. There are traces of Spanish in it.
  5. Sentence patterns are flexible.

I want to provide some useful links if you are interested to learn more.

Ok, I have to end this for now. Next time, I will post about the things I did to make the posts that I posted in my other blog which of course is related to languages.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Categories

